Election Petition Tribunal Sacks 2 LP Rep Members

Election Petition Tribunal Sacks 2 LP Rep Members

Election Petition Tribunal Sacks 2 LP Rep Members.

Election Petition Tribunal Sacks 2 LP Rep Members

Umuahia, Abia State – The Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Umuahia, the capital of Abia State, has delivered a significant ruling, leading to the removal of two members of the Labour Party (LP) from their seats in the National Assembly.

In a landmark judgment, the tribunal declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates as the rightful winners of the February 25 National Assembly elections in their respective constituencies.

Ibe Okwara’s Ouster in Arochukwu/Ohafia Federal Constituency

The first case involved the member representing Arochukwu/Ohafia Federal Constituency, Ibe Okwara of the Labour Party (LP). Mr. Okwara had initially been declared the winner of the election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in February.

However, Daniel Chimezie Okeke of the All Progressives Congress (APC) challenged the election outcome in court, alleging irregularities.

The tribunal, presided over by Justice Adeyinka Aderegbegbe, carefully examined the evidence presented and found merit in Mr. Okeke’s claims.

Convinced by the arguments put forth, the tribunal ruled that Ibe Okwara had not complied with the provisions of the Electoral Act. Consequently, it declared Daniel Okeke as the actual winner of the February 25 National Assembly election in the Arochukwu/Ohafia Federal Constituency.

The tribunal further ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to withdraw the certificate of return previously issued to Ibe Okwara and issue a fresh one to Daniel Okeke.

Emeka Nnamani’s Defeat in Abia North/South Federal Constituency

In another case, the National Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Umuahia delivered a similar verdict. This time, it affected the lawmaker representing Abia North/South federal constituency in the House of Representatives, Hon. Emeka Nnamani of the Labour Party.

The tribunal declared Alex Ikwechegh of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) as the winner of the House of Representatives election for the Abia North/South federal constituency, which had also taken place on February 25, 2023.

These tribunal rulings mark a significant turn of events in the political landscape of Abia State, as they result in a change of representation for the affected constituencies in the National Assembly.

About Author
Get Local and International News, Entertainment, Scholarships, and other updates daily from Nigeria and around the world.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.